Covering the Shady Ground

Although some of my previous hard landscape work has been altered,  most safe-to-fail experiments in Bron Ceris garden concern planting both in the choice of material and their juxtaposition. Tree preservation orders and an uncooperative neighbour resulted in my growing interest in shade gardening. I am fortunate in having Crûg Farm 15 minutes away - so finding shade plants and advice is not a problem - however when I get there I have a child-in-a-sweetshop syndrome. I also already  have some stuff to transplant.  In the immaturity of the shade garden  ground cover is key  - therefore  one major experiment is planting and plant combinations.

Ground hugging plants, moss substitutes (I have some Japanese pretensions) and year-round green have all been considered. Obviously some plants take time to get established and form colonies however after one year there are some plants that have shown their worth.  These plants are in irrigated dry shade.  I might add in my Z9 climate much of the planting I describe is fairly evergreen anyway.

A clear success has been Mitella x inamii- ground hugging palmate green glossy leaves with silver veins has more than quadroupled its space  without damage from slugs or whatever and looks very attractive



Mitella furusei v. subramosa  has survived but has yet to establish a colony.

Chrysosplenum Macrophyllum has began to triple its quantity in the first year - But as Bleddyn Wynn Jones pointed out - you may regret its profusion over time. It is in the darkest part of the garden.

I shy away from any plant bearing the name Oxalis -as given the opportunity, the white Oxalis latifola would rapidly colonise any bare ground in the garden. However Oxalis oergana seems to have grown into nice low hummocks with long flowering periods of mauve flowers.

I found Beesia calthifolia very attractive and I put it in two spots. One has survived but not put on a huge growth in the first year- however the second, less than 1 m away has provided food stuff for some other garden inhabitant.  I will persist because it is so lovely. I have had a similar experience with Brunnera macrophylla Jack Frost.

Saxifraga fortunei f. alpina has multiplied well and has provided a long flowering season with very pleasant autumn colours.
Vancouveria Hexandra has become fodder for some other garden dweller and only a few leaves and stalks are left - maybe that will be more robust next year.

Using a different scale, I have also planted some hardy geraniums- which have remained in leaf throughout the year. G. nodosum “Svelte Lilac” has formed its 45 cm clump as advertised in 1 year and will lift and separate to cover more space. The blotched leaves of  G x monacense have also done equally well and its intermittent, almost black flowers were interesting - although I have regarded both plants as  having foliage interest. A friend has also supplied an unnamed variety which was termed G. toughasoldboots.

Pachysandra terminalis has done OK as expected- but its really boring - but next year I might try P. axillaris 'Crûg's Cover' - I am warned that gets rampant in our north Wales climate - but its shiny leaves are very tempting.


Ophiopogon formosanus  and O.japonicus have bushed out and are particularly good  at the edges of paths as they will flop over the sides of the edging.They look like  lush grass most of the time with formosanus having a broader leaf.
Close to the ground I have wondered about moss-substitutes for a Japan inspired pathway.  I have left some soil open in the hope that moss will appear. Two obvious substitutes: Soleirolia and Sagina Subalta have done well.