The diary of an untidy mind

Trying to ensure that I do have a record of what is going on and when changes happen is probably as important  as more thoughtful pieces.  Hence the bullet point nature.

Protea Dracomontana



A trip to the Drakensberg Mountains in South Africa:

  • Resolve to do something  with alpines - in the bit with exposed rock
  • Put in some succulents - the Aloe Arborescence  was lovely  but not for this climate. I have bought and planted Aloe Stratiata - the owner of the Cavern Resort  suggested as it came from Lesotho and they have a lot of rain it might do well. I have noticed that it did well against a wall  near the entrance in Bodnant.  Also bought Aloe Polyphylla. This I will keep in a pot and bring out in the summer.  This, among other reasons, will mean I will buy a mini-polytunnel.  Also I have bought  Hesperaloe Parviflora  - this  is in the mediterranean gravel.

A trip to Crûg Farm and bought: 

  • a beautiful  Magnolia Sielbodii -lovely pure white cup flowers with purple calyx. This  is in-between the pond and my neighbour's house.I hope will screen their bathroom.  Used compost from new hotbox composter.
  • Tiarella polyphylla 'Baoxing Pink’
  • Aconitum zigzag v. ryohakuense
  • Beesia calthifolia
  • an Actea

Beesia

This is to fill up a bit more of the Shade garden.  I am also planting out the Thalictrum rochebruneanum that I have grown from seed.  I have also recently planted Musa Lasiocarpa near the “bus shelter”  and I have moved a pot containing Canna Russiflora nearby.   I have also recently planted some anenome nemorosa,  ompholoides,  some pulmonaria  and Houttuynia cordata (possibly harlequin or  chameleon). Transferred  the cyclamen from the “winter”containers.  Most of last years planting doing well. 

Double throated sunbird on an Aloe Arborescens.


 
After Chelsea I was much taken with  Salvia "Love and Wishes”. I found it for sake In J Parkers  as part of a bundle with 4 others Salvias at a good price for groups of  5.  These have been purchased and planted and will be discussed in due course.

Aliums purchased in Tatton 2014 looking good -  will need more for close to house and for succession in the “big” bed.

The season is late -a lot of wind and rain.